New Year, New Album, Same Mayer

by The Cowl Editor on February 2, 2017

Arts & Entertainment

Photo courtesy of


Brigid Walshe `19

A&E Staff


John Mayer is back in a big way. On Jan. 20, Mayer released four of his new songs from his current album, The Search for Everything, and fans are already craving more.

Mayer is planning on releasing his latest album in waves, meaning that every month, he will release four more songs until the album is released in full because he feels like there are “too many songs to ever get out the door at once.”

The four songs released off this EP, The Search for Everything-Wave One, are “Moving On and Getting Over,” “Changing,” “Love on the Weekend,” and “You’re Gonna Live Forever in Me,” which have all have had a positive reception.

Mayer has said that these songs “represent literally hundreds of hours living inside of these little worlds.” The songs have everything you would expect from John Mayer: poetic lyrics and peaceful, bluesy melodies. Through them, Mayer meditates on getting older, yet his music sounds just as good as it did at the beginning of his career over 10 years ago.

Mayer released the first single, “Love On The Weekend,” from the EP back in November, where he also hinted at a possible full album and tour. This has been Mayer’s first single since he covered Beyoncé’s song “XO” back in 2014 and The Search for Everything will be his first full album since Paradise Valley back in 2013.

Despite the hiatus, Mayer has been busy producing new music and touring as the lead guitarist with Dead and Company, which features Grateful Dead members Bob Weir, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann. The group is supposed to tour this summer as well, now equipped with more material in Mayer’s newest songs.

Mayer has said that this album has “more songs than can fit on your standard sized album,” meaning it may be a couple of months until the full album is released. Much to his fans’ liking, Mayer has also said that 2017 “is the year of more music coming than I’ve ever put out in one year.”

On Twitter, Mayer announced that these new songs were performed and recorded by many of the same people who worked on his hit 2006 album Continuum, which included popular tracks such as “Waiting On The World To Change” and “Gravity.”

Mayer is set to tour The Search for Everything this spring across the U.S. and Canada, giving fans even more to look forward to. It looks as if 2017 will be a big year for the artist, and there are plenty of reasons to tune in.